Visual + Writing Resources (Environmental Settings and World Building)

📎 Redirected from the Writing Resources Page
Note: Please see the Writing Resources Page for overall navigational notes on my directories.

I always wanted to make some sort of environment focused resource directory, mainly as an artist and for world building. Similar to the other post, I wanted to make a directory for my artistic and writing needs with a focus on environmental settings and world building. Overall, my goal is to start incorporating more original and non-abstract backgrounds into my art.

I may end up separating the world building and the environment and place them into a different blog post, so please watch out for any potential moving.

🏞️ ENVIRONMENTAL SETTINGS AND WORLD BUILDING 🌎

TABLE OF CONTENTS
🔳 World Building
▪️ General
▪️ Colours
▪️ Generators
▪️ Mythological Creatures

🔳 Environmental Settings
▪️ General Environment & Settings, Inspiration
▪️ Natural Environment
▪️ Man-made Environment
▪️ Environment-related Artists
▪️ Background Art Resources

🌎 WORLD BUILDING

📝 Note from Blazi: This is a fantasy-adventure focused compilation list, but can be used in general anyway.

🌎GENERAL
🏷️ Guides, tips, prompts

🌎 COLOURS
🖼️🏷️ Colour terms for describing physical traits.

🌎 GENERATORS
💡🖼️🏷️Generators relevant to environmental settings and world building

🌎MYTHOLOGICAL CREATURES
🏷️ Inspiration, subject exploration

Wikipedia

🏞️ ENVIRONMENTAL SETTINGS 🏞️
🏷️Focus: Prompts, visual inspiration, topic exploration, ideas

📝Note from Blazi:
▪️ This is something where I struggle the most in, is knowing what to do for my backgrounds rather than knowing how to make a background (landscape focused, rather than abstracts)! I have made a large list of links to explore for ideas in this section for this purpose.

🏞️ GENERAL ENVIRONMENT & SETTINGS, VISUAL INSPIRATION
🖼️💡🏷️ Inspiration*, prompts, tools, topic exploration*

Topic Exploration and Resources

🛠️ Resources: Tools and Software (Free)

🏞️ VISUAL INSPIRATION
🖼️💡🏷️ Aesthetic inspiration on the environment. Both from real life and fictional work; blog posts are also featured in this.

🏞️ NATURAL ENVIRONMENTS
🖼️💡🏷️ Topic exploration, resources, physical geography, nature terminology (not including animals and insects)

📝Note from Blazi – Guiding questions to think about:
💡What should I add to my background?
💡What are some interesting things that can be found out there in nature I can add to my scenery?
💡What are some terms I can learn and know about (and be reminded of) to further in my searches for visual inspiration?

Wikipedia Lists

🏞️ MAN-MADE ENVIRONMENTS
🖼️💡🏷️ Topic exploration, resources, architectural terminology

📝Note from Blazi – Guiding questions to think about:
💡What should I add to my background?
💡What are some interesting man-made things or objects can I add to my scene?
💡What are some terms I can learn and know about (and be reminded of) to further in my searches for visual inspiration?

General

Wikipedia Lists

🏞️ENVIRONMENT RELATED ARTISTS
🖼️💡 Inspiration: Pages that are dedicated to artists, architects, and photographers.
I’m working on a compilation, stay tuned!

🏞️ BACKGROUND ART RESOURCES
🖼️🏷️ Art focused resources for drawing the environment and backgrounds.

📝Note from Blazi:
Please note this is a different type of list from the Art Resources Directory, as I want this to be focused in on tips/things I normally do not see around in general, explores beyond the basics, focuses in on the non-abstract, and not just rendering (E.g. How to paint water).

Background Tutorials by Thomas Romain

Leave a comment